Planning / Zoning

Office Hours

Monday, Wednesday, Friday
8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday and Thursday: varies (also by appointment on any weekday)

Please call ahead, due to Zoning Administrator attending various meetings throughout the week and hours are adjusted accordingly







111 W Fairfield St
Clay Center, NE 68933


Clay County Comprehensive Plan Survey

Zoning Permit Application

Zoning Regulations


Barb Barnett

Zoning / Floodplain Administrator

Clay County Zoning Office is located on the bottom floor of the Clay County Court House. Barb Barnett is the Clay County Zoning Administrator and Floodplain Administrator.

The Clay County Joint Planning Commission meets the third Tuesday of each month at 8:00 P.M., in the Clay County Court House, 111 West Fairfield, Clay Center, Nebraska. The Clay County Board of Adjustment meets the second Monday of the month at call of Chairman or Zoning Administrator at 7:00 P.M.

The Joint Planning Commission and Board of Adjustment are made up of members from Clay County and Villages of Clay Center, Harvard, Edgar, Fairfield, and Trumbull, Sutton, and Saronville.

The administrator enforces the zoning regulations; prepares agendas, advertises meetings and public hearings; collects fees and issues applications for:
1) All new construction
2) Conditional Uses
3) Amendments to the Comprehensive Plan, Zoning Regulations, and Zoning Map
4) Rezoning of land uses
5) "Occupancy/Compliance" Certificates, upon request

Copies of all zoning applications are sent to the County Assessors office.
Follows up on written signed complaints of zoning violations.
Flood plain Administrator - accepts applications and determines what properties are in the floodplain.
Prepares and submits annual budget.
Reports permits issued quarterly to the County Supervisors.
Determine what the zoned uses are for every property.

Clay County Joint Planning Commission

Dan Baumert
Mary Lynne Ellis
Steve Furman
Heather Wharton
Keith Johnson
Andrew Leichleiter
Robyn Von Spreckelsen
Lyn Waegli
Brett Nunnenkamp

Clay County Board of Adjustment

Lynn Lipovsky, Chairperson
Lori Samuelson
Andrew Leichleiter
DudLee Brennfoerder
Wayne Peshek
Alternate Seat: Sharon Ryan