## COUNTY BOARD OF EQUALIZATION MEETING MINUTES

Courthouse, Clay Center, Nebraska, June 17, 2025, at 9:37 a.m.

The Clay County Board of Supervisors acting as the Board of Equalization met June 17, 2025, as per public notice given in the Clay County News on June 11, 2025, a copy of the proof of publication being on file in the County Clerk's Office. Availability of the agenda was communicated in advance notice of the meeting. All the proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Chairman L. Wayne Johnson stated that the open meeting law poster is posted at the West wall in the back of the room and presided with roll call showing the following present: Scott Bitterman, Eric Samuelson, Glen Becker, Jim Pavelka, Jesse Mohnike, Richard Shaw and L. Wayne Johnson.

There was no public input.

Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Bitterman to approve the minutes of the meeting held June 10, 2025, as mailed. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Abstain: Samuelson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Robin Gilbert, County Treasurer, provided the Vehicle exemption applications for 2025.

Motion by Bitterman and seconded by Samuelson to approve the exemption application for Clay Center Christian Church for renewal of a motor vehicle exemption of a 2010 Ford Van as recommended by the County Treasurer. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Becker and seconded by Bitterman to approve the exemption application for Immaculated Concep Catholic Church for an exemption of a 2002 utility trailer as recommended by the County Treasurer. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Shaw to approve the exemption application for Head Start Child & Family Development Program INC for renewal of motor vehicle exemption for 2011 Dodge Caravan, a 2019 Toyota Camry, 2010 Collins School Bus, 2024 Chrysler Pacifica and 2020 Ford Fusion as recommended by the County Treasurer. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Mohnike and seconded by Bitterman to approve the exemption application for Sutton Community Home Inc for renewal of a motor vehicle exemption of a 2020 Dodge Grand Caravan and 2011 Ford Econoline as recommended by the County Treasurer. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried. Brenda Hansen, County Assessor, presented Tax List Corrections #3092 - #3094 for omitted property changes. Motion by Bitterman and seconded by Pavelka to accept the recommendation of the Assessor and approve Tax List Corrections #3092 - #3094 as presented. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Hansen presented proposed over/under values on real property listings. Motion by Shaw and seconded by Bitterman to approve the proposed over/under values on real property listings as recommended by the County Assessor. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Shaw and seconded by Mohnike to adjourn this meeting at 10:02 A.M. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Cassie Aksamit, County Clerk

L. Wayne Johnson, Chairman