COUNTY BOARD OF EQUALIZATION MEETING MINUTES

The Clay County Board of Equalization met at the Courthouse, Clay Center, Nebraska on October 15, 2024 at 10:01 A.M., as per public notice given in the Clay County News on October 9, 2024 a copy of the proof of publication being on file in the County Clerk's Office. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice of the meeting. All of the proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Vice-Chairman Jim Pavelka stated that the open meeting law poster is posted on the west wall in the back of the room and presided with roll call showing the following present: Scott Bitterman, Eric Samuelson, Glen Becker, Ivan Fintel and Jim Pavelka; absent: L. Wayne Johnson and Richard Shaw.

Minutes of the meeting held September 24, 2024 were provided to the board members prior to the meeting. Motion by Bitterman and seconded by Samuelson to approve the minutes of the meeting held September 24, 2024, as mailed. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Fintel and Pavelka; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Cassie Aksamit, County Clerk, Robin Gilbert, County Treasurer, and Brenda Hansen, County Assessor worked together to figure the levies. They were checked by others within their offices. The worksheets were given to the board members for review. The worksheets were used to figure the levies for Townships, Fire Districts and the Clay County Ag Society. The levies were set as presented.

Motion by Bitterman and seconded by Becker to set the levies for the Clay County Townships, Fire Districts and the Clay County Ag Society as presented. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Samuelson, Becker, Fintel, Bitterman and Pavelka; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Townships: School Creek 0.002319; Eldorado 0.004675; Harvard 0.005601; Leicester 0.003543; Inland 0.007366; Lynn 0.004577; Lewis 0.006997; Sutton 0.005365; Sheridan 0.007901; Marshall 0.004118; Lone Tree 0.002878; Glenvil 0.007547; Spring Ranch 0.010536; Fairfield 0.003295; Edgar 0.006038; Logan 0.004046.

Fire Districts: **Sutton Rural Fire** General Fund 0.016050; **Harvard Rural Fire** General Fund 0.009714; **Trumbull Rural Fire** General Fund 0.009911, Sinking Fund 0.006477; Bond Fund 0.009023; **Clay Center Rural Fire** General Fund 0.012713, Sinking Fund 0.002672; **Fairfield Rural Fire** General Fund 0.011111, Sinking Fund 0.005269; **Glenvil Rural Fire** General Fund 0.001695, Bond Fund 0.020337; **Edgar Rural Fire** General Fund 0.013061.

Clay County Ag Society: General Fund 0.002728, Building Fund 0.000041, Sinking Fund (Capital Improvement) 0.000589.

Motion by Fintel and seconded by Becker to adopt the levies for Clay County Political Subdivisions as requested, except for the tax levies set by other counties. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Becker, Fintel, Bitterman, Samuelson and Pavelka; Nay: None. Motion carried.

County Levies: *General/Road* 0.214324; *Veterans Aid* 0.000126; *Miscellaneous Sinking* 0.003979; *Health* 0.006007; and *Road Improvement Bond* 0.030115.

Cities and Villages: **Sutton** General Fund 0.365038, Community Center Fund 0.045808, Bond 0.472054; **Harvard** General Fund 0.499999, Bond 0.327224; **Trumbull** General Fund 0.200935, Bond 0.093553; **Saronville** General Fund 0.124646; **Clay Center** General Fund 0.416632, Bond 0.180663; **Glenvil** General Fund 0.403417, Bond 0.104795; **Fairfield** General Fund 0.450000, Bond 0.098216; **Edgar** General Fund 0.431062, Bond 0.891896; **Ong** General Fund 0.450000; **Deweese** General Fund 0.350947.

Schools: **Sutton** General Fund 0.554529, Special Building Fund 0.054906; QCP Building Fund 0.027453; **Harvard** General Fund 0.822173, Special Building Fund 0.004616; **Sandy Creek** General Fund 0.579326, Special Building Fund 0.058808; QCP Building Fund 0.027304.

Clay County SIDS #1: General Fund 0.091192, Bond 0.091192. Sutton Community Redevelopment Authority 0.006268.

Motion by Fintel and seconded by Samuelson to adjourn this meeting at 10:21 A.M. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Fintel, Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker and Pavelka; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Cassie Aksamit, County Clerk

Jim Pavelka, Vice-Chairman