COUNTY BOARD OF EQUALIZATION MEETING MINUTES

The Clay County Board of Equalization met at the Courthouse, Clay Center, Nebraska on September 24, 2024 at 8:30 A.M., as per public notice given in the Clay County News on September 18, 2024 a copy of the proof of publication being on file in the County Clerk's Office. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice of the meeting. All of the proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Chairman L. Wayne Johnson stated that the open meeting law poster is posted on the west wall in the back of the room and presided with roll call showing the following present: Scott Bitterman, Eric Samuelson, Glen Becker, Jim Pavelka, Richard Shaw and L. Wayne Johnson; absent: Ivan Fintel.

All present stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Minutes of the meeting held July 23, 2024 were provided to the board members prior to the meeting. Motion by Bitterman and seconded by Pavelka to approve the minutes of the meeting held July 23, 2024. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Brenda Hansen, County Assessor, presented Tax List Corrections #3084-3085 for omitted property changes. Motion by Shaw and seconded by Pavelka to accept the recommendation of the Assessor and approve Tax List Corrections #3084-3085. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Shaw, Bitterman and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Robin Gilbert, County Treasurer provided the Vehicle exemption application from the Head Start Child & Family Development Program, Inc for 2024. Motion by Samuelson and seconded by Becker to approve the exemption application for the Head Start Child & Family Development Program, Inc for a motor vehicle exemption of a 2024 Chrysler Pacifica as recommended by the County Treasurer. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Becker, Pavelka, Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Samuelson and seconded by Shaw to adjourn this meeting at 8:40 A.M. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Pavelka, Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Cassie Aksamit, County Clerk

L. Wayne Johnson, Chairman