COUNTY BOARD OF EQUALIZATION PROCEEDINGS

Courthouse, Clay Center, Nebraska, June 20, 2023, at 11:19 AM.

The Clay County Board of Supervisors acting as the Board of Equalization met June 20, 2023, as per public notice given in the Clay County News on June 14, 2023, a copy of the proof of publication being on file in the County Clerk's Office. The availability of the agenda was communicated in advance notice of the meeting. Chairman Johnson presided with roll call showing the following present: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw and Johnson. Minutes of the meeting held June 13, 2023, were mailed to the board members. All of the proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

It was noted by Chairman Johnson that the open meeting law poster is posted on the west wall.

Motion by Bitterman and seconded by Shaw to approve the minutes of the meeting held June 13, 2023 as mailed. On roll call, yea: Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman and Johnson. Motion carried.

Brenda Hansen, County Assessor, presented Tax List Corrections for omitted property changes #3031-3039. Motion by Fintel and seconded by Bitterman to accept the recommendation of the Assessor and approve Tax List Corrections #3031-3039. On roll call, yea: Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson and Johnson. Motion carried.

Hansen presented proposed over/under values on real property listings. Motion by Becker and seconded by Pavelka to approve the proposed over/under values on real property listings as recommended by the County Assessor. On roll call, yea: Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker and Johnson. Motion carried.

The Clay County Nebraska Cemetery Report and the Clay County 3 Year Plan of Assessment were discussed.

Robin Gilbert, County Treasurer provided the Vehicle exemption applications for 2023.

Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Fintel to approve the exemption application for Clay Center Christian Church for renewal of a motor vehicle exemption of a 2010 Ford Van as recommended by the County Treasurer. On roll call, yea: Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka and Johnson. Motion carried.

Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Samuelson to approve the exemption application for Glenvil Cemetery Association for renewal of a motor vehicle exemption of a 2007 Chevy pickup as recommended by County Treasurer. On roll call, yea: Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel and Johnson. Motion carried.

Motion by Bitterman and seconded by Shaw to approve the exemption application for Head Start Child & Family Development Program INC for renewal of motor vehicle exemption for 2011 Dodge Caravan, a 2019 Toyota Camry, a 2019 Ford Fusion, 2019 Toyota Sienna, and 2016 Chevrolet Express Cutaway G4500 as recommended by the County Treasurer. On roll call, yea: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw and Johnson. Motion carried.

Motion by Bitterman and seconded by Fintel to approve the exemption application for Immaculated Concep Catholic Church for an exemption of a 2002 utility trailer as recommended by the County Treasurer. On roll call, yea: Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman and Johnson. Motion carried.

Motion by Becker and seconded by Samuelson to approve the exemption application for Midland Area Agency on Aging for renewal of a motor vehicle exemptions for a 2015 Dodge Sport Van as recommended by County Treasurer. On roll call, yea: Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson and Johnson. Motion carried.

Motion by Fintel and seconded by Bitterman to approve the exemption application for Sutton Community Home Inc for renewal of a motor vehicle exemption of a 2007 Ford Cutaway Van, a 2007 Chevrolet Sport Utility and a 2020 Dodge Grand Caravan as recommended by the County Treasurer. On roll call, yea: Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker and Johnson. Motion carried.

Motion by Fintel and seconded by Samuelson to adjourn this meeting at 11:37 A.M. On roll call, yea: Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka and Johnson. Motion carried.

Cassie Aksamit, County Clerk

L. Wayne Johnson, Chairman