COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS MEETING MINUTES

The Clay County Board of Supervisors met at the Courthouse, Clay Center, Nebraska on June 17, 2025 at 9:00 A.M., as per public notice given in the Clay County News on June 11, 2025 a copy of the proof of publication being on file in the County Clerk's Office. Availability of the agenda was communicated in advance notice of the meeting. All of the proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Chairman L. Wayne Johnson stated that the open meeting law poster is posted on the west wall in the back of the room and presided with roll call showing the following present: Scott Bitterman, Eric Samuelson, Glen Becker, James Pavelka, Jesse Mohnike, Richard Shaw and L. Wayne Johnson.

All present stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Minutes of the meeting held June 10, 2025 were provided to the board members prior to the meeting. Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Shaw to approve the minutes of the meeting held June 10, 2025. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Abstain: Samuelson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

There was no public input.

Thomas Roemmich II, Highway Superintendent provided a report on the roads.

Jeff Franklin, County Sheriff, presented his monthly report.

The County Attorney was unable to attend the meeting. Cassie Aksamit, County Clerk, presented a department update that was provided by the County Attorney via email prior to the meeting.

Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Mohnike to designate MIPS for printing services for the 2025 Joint Public Hearing postcards. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Becker and seconded by Shaw to appoint Cassie Aksamit as the Clay County Clerk as the budget making authority for the 2025-2026 fiscal year. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Supervisors will do the quarterly jail visit.

Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Mohnike to adjourn this meeting at 9:35 A.M; next regular meeting scheduled for June 25, 2025. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Cassie Aksamit, County Clerk

L. Wayne Johnson, Chairman