COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS MEETING MINUTES

The Clay County Board of Supervisors met at the Courthouse, Clay Center, Nebraska on May 20, 2025 at 9:00 A.M., as per public notice given in the Clay County News on May 14, 2025 a copy of the proof of publication being on file in the County Clerk's Office. Availability of the agenda was communicated in advance notice of the meeting. All of the proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Chairman L. Wayne Johnson stated that the open meeting law poster is posted on the west wall in the back of the room and presided with roll call showing the following present: Scott Bitterman, Eric Samuelson, Glen Becker, James Pavelka, Jesse Mohnike, Richard Shaw and L. Wayne Johnson.

All present stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Minutes of the meeting held April 29, 2025 were provided to the board members prior to the meeting. Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Shaw to approve the minutes of the meeting held April 29, 2025. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Thomas Roemmich II, Highway Superintendent provided a report on the roads and the April mechanic's report.

Jeff Franklin, County Sheriff, presented his monthly report.

Jennifer Fleischer, County Attorney, presented her monthly report. Brenda Hansen, County Assessor, was also present to discuss the changes to the deadlines for Form 425 for Reporting Damaged or Destroyed Property.

The April Fee Reports were sent to the Board prior to the meeting. Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Bitterman to approve the fee reports for the following county officials for the month of April 2025: County Clerk \$10,699.69; County Court \$7,519.44; Clerk of District Court \$42,740.86; Sheriff \$15,873.74; County Health Department \$826.69 and County Treasurer receipts numbered 25040001 through 25030065 in the amount of \$7.515,322.38. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Blue Cross Blue Shield submitted rates for the 2025-2026 on the current dental plan and there was a decrease in the health insurance rates. Motion by Becker and seconded by Samuelson to authorize the County Clerk to sign the BCBS Sub-group Application for 2025-2026 for the new health insurance plan and continue with the current dental plan. On roll call yea: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson. Motion carried.

Haley Malone, Emergency Manager, presented her monthly report. Haley brought attention to the age of the AEDs at our County Departments. The Board would like her to replace them.

Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Shaw to adjourn this meeting at 10:28 A.M; next regular meeting scheduled for May 28, 2025. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Cassie Aksamit, County Clerk

L. Wayne Johnson, Chairman