## COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS MEETING MINUTES

The Clay County Board of Supervisors met at the Courthouse, Clay Center, Nebraska on March 11, 2025 at 9:00 A.M., as per public notice given in the Clay County News on March 5, 2025 a copy of the proof of publication being on file in the County Clerk's Office. Availability of the agenda was communicated in advance notice of the meeting. All of the proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Chairman L. Wayne Johnson stated that the open meeting law poster is posted on the west wall in the back of the room and presided with roll call showing the following present: Scott Bitterman, Eric Samuelson, Glen Becker, James Pavelka, Jesse Mohnike, Richard Shaw and L. Wayne Johnson.

All present stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Minutes of the meeting held February 25, 2025 were provided to the board members prior to the meeting. Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Mohnike to approve the minutes of the meeting held February 25, 2025. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Thomas Roemmich II, Highway Superintendent provided a report on the roads and the February mechanic's report.

Tom presented the Board with a Weight Limit Resolution. Motion by Shaw and seconded by Mohnike to adopt Resolution #25-03 Asphalt Road Weight Limits to begin March 12, 2025. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: Bitterman. Motion carried. (Resolution on file in the Clerk's office)

Tom presented the Board with an Amendment to the Asphalt Overlay Project to conduct additional core samples to include all county asphalt roads in the overlay project. Motion by Samuelson and seconded by Bitterman approve Amendment #1 to the Asphalt Overlay Project and authorize the Chairman to sign the same. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Shaw and seconded by Bitterman to sign the Notice to Proceed for the Asphalt Overlay Project. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Bitterman and seconded by Pavelka to authorize the Chairman to sign the contract with Werner Construction for the Asphalt Overlay Project. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Mohnike to sign the NEPA Agreement and Resolution #25-04 with Olsson for the Deweese Northwest Project BRO-7018(26). Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried. (Resolution on file in the Clerk's office)

Tom presented two easement requests from Glenwood Telecommunications to bury fiber across the county for future customers. Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Samuelson to approve the easements from Glenwood Telecommunications as presented. A full copy of the easements is available to review upon request in the Clay County Clerk's office. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Megan Burda with the University of Nebraska Extension was present to introduce the new Water & Cropping Systems Educator, David Wangila. Megan also presented the annual report.

The February Fee Reports were sent to the Board prior to the meeting. Motion by Bitterman and seconded by Pavelka to approve the fee reports for the following county officials for the month of February 2025: County Clerk \$6,318.75; County Court \$6,230.11; Clerk of District Court \$39,991.33; Sheriff \$3,249.09; County Health Department \$995.00 and County Treasurer receipts numbered 25020001 through 25020056 in the amount of \$664,002.71. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

A recommendation for reappointment to the South Heartland District Health Department Board of Health was received. Motion by Becker and seconded by Mohnike to reappoint Nanette Shackelford to serve on the South Heartland District Health Department Board of Health for three-years beginning April 2025. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Cassie Aksamit, County Clerk, presented the Board with the renewal quote for the Catastrophic Inmate Medical Insurance, coverage period of April 1, 2025 to March 31, 2026, renewal rate of \$8,278.56. Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Bitterman to approve the renewal contract as presented. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Josh Anderson was present to ask for the Board's support in bringing awareness to domestic violence and resources for victims.

Kreighton Baxter, Chief Deputy Sheriff presented the Board with some departmental changes and was accompanied by Paul Tartaglia to discuss the Central Nebraska Special Response Team. Motion by Shaw and seconded by Bitterman that Clay County join the Central Nebraska Special Response Team. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Megan Ware with National Insurance Services (NIS) presented the Wyze Benefits platform to the Board.

The Fiscal Year 2023-2024 Audit was received from Contryman Associates. Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Becker to accept the Fiscal Year 2023-2024 Audit ending June 30, 2024. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Robin Gilbert, Clay County Treasurer, gave the Board a report from the tax sale held on March 3<sup>rd</sup>. There were 0 bidders present; \$0 total tax & interest collected; and 0 tax certificates sold.

Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Samuelson to adjourn this meeting at 11:26 A.M; next regular meeting scheduled for March 18, 2025. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Cassie Aksamit, County Clerk

L. Wayne Johnson, Chairman