## COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS MEETING MINUTES

The Clay County Board of Supervisors met at the Courthouse, Clay Center, Nebraska on January 21, 2025 at 9:00 A.M., as per public notice given in the Clay County News on January 15, 2025 a copy of the proof of publication being on file in the County Clerk's Office. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice of the meeting. All of the proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Chairman L. Wayne Johnson stated that the open meeting law poster is posted on the west wall in the back of the room and presided with roll call showing the following present: Scott Bitterman, Glen Becker, James Pavelka, Jesse Mohnike, Richard Shaw and L. Wayne Johnson; absent: Eric Samuelson.

All present stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Minutes of the meeting held January 14, 2025 were provided to the board members prior to the meeting. Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Mohnike to approve the minutes of the meeting held January 14, 2025. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

## There was no public input.

Thomas Roemmich II, Highway Superintendent provided a report on the roads. Tom requested that the Board review the county equipment rates and maintenance agreements. Tom advised the Board that the last time rates were reviewed / increased was in 2011 and presented the board with updated numbers that he has come up with to keep the County in a comparable range to other providers. Motion by Shaw and seconded by Bitterman to adjust the road equipment rates as presented. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried (copy of said rates can be found in the County Clerk's office and County Road's department).

Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Mohnike to open the bids received for On-Call Engineering for the term of January 1, 2025 through December 31, 2025 at 9:30 A.M. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Bids received:	
Oak Creek Engineering	
Personnel Group	Hourly Rate
Professional Engineer	\$145/hour
Bridge Inspection Team Leader	\$120/hour
Registered Land Surveyor	\$120/hour
Project Manager	\$115/hour
Survey Technician	\$90/hour
Bridge Inspection Tech	\$90/hour
CAD Drafter	\$70/hour
Observation Resident	\$75/hour
Lab Testing	Direct Expense
Mileage	Prevailing IRS rate
Reproduction	At cost
Olsson, Inc.	
Description	Rate
Principal	\$230/hour
Project Manager	\$180/hour
Project Professional	\$140/hour
Assistant Professional	\$125/hour
Designer	\$110/hour
CAD Operator	\$85/hour
Administrative/Clerical	\$80/hour
Surveyor	\$125/hour
Construction Services	\$90/hour

Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Bitterman to accept all bids received for On-Call Engineering for the term of January 1, 2025 through December 31, 2025 and authorize the Chairman to sign the contracts. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Robin Gilbert, County Treasurer, presented the Board with a Resolution for a Pledge Release. Motion by Becker and seconded by Pavelka to adopt Resolution #25-01 for Pledge Release on CUSIP #3133EMER9, CUSIP #3133EMBH4 and CUSIP #3133ENCZ1 as presented. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Shaw and seconded by Mohnike to open the public hearing on the Conservation Easement Application of Wetlands America Trust at 10:00 A.M. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

The Board reviewed the recommendation of the Clay County Joint Planning & Zoning Commission. Said recommendation was provided after a public hearing held on January 7, 2025, in which several residents of Clay County had attended. The Chairman started the hearing by discussing the reason for the hearing and invited comment from those present. Comments to the Board were provided by Todd McWha, representation for Wetlands America, and Mike George, who is the director of the conservation programs with Ducks Unlimited. Several county residents / taxpayers were present for the hearing. Amongst those present, comments or concerns were shared by Kyle Kinyoun, Ivan Fintel and Josh Anderson.

There being no further comments from the public, motion by Pavelka and seconded by Mohnike to close the public hearing at 10:28 A.M. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

The Board will discuss and act on said easement application at next week's meeting.

Jennifer Fleischer, County Attorney, presented her monthly report.

Jeff Franklin, County Sheriff, presented his monthly report.

Barb Barnett, County Planning & Zoning Administrator, presented the 2024 4<sup>th</sup> Quarter / Year-End Report.

Michele Bever, Executive Director of South Heartland District Health Department presented their annual report.

Motion by Bitterman and seconded by Shaw to recess the meeting and enter into executive session at 11:26 A.M. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Mohnike and seconded by Shaw to exit executive session and resume the normal meeting at 12:41 P.M. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

The Board will review the various governing boards that they are currently serving at a future meeting.

Motion by Becker and seconded by Mohnike to adjourn this meeting at 12:44 P.M; next regular meeting scheduled for January 28, 2025. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Becker, Pavelka, Mohnike, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Cassie Aksamit, County Clerk

L. Wayne Johnson, Chairman