COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS MEETING MINUTES

The Clay County Board of Supervisors met at the Courthouse, Clay Center, Nebraska on December 31, 2024 at 9:00 A.M., as per public notice given in the Clay County News on December 25, 2024 a copy of the proof of publication being on file in the County Clerk's Office. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice of the meeting. All of the proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Chairman L. Wayne Johnson stated that the open meeting law poster is posted on the west wall in the back of the room and presided with roll call showing the following present: Scott Bitterman, Eric Samuelson, Glen Becker, Jim Pavelka, Ivan Fintel, Richard Shaw and L. Wayne Johnson. All present stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Minutes of the meeting held December 26, 2024 were provided to the board members prior to the meeting. Motion by Fintel and seconded by Pavelka to approve the minutes of the meeting held December 26, 2024. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Michele Bever with South Heartland District Health Department was present and provided the Board with information regarding a Resolution that the department passed in November regarding social media and electronic usage awareness.

Thomas Roemmich, II, Highway Superintendent presented the roads report requested permission to advertise for on-call engineering services for 2025. Motion by Shaw and seconded by Bitterman to advertise for bids for on-call engineering services for 2025; bids to be opened on January 21, 2025 at 9:30 A.M. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Mark Johnson, Building & Grounds presented his monthly report.

Haley Malone, Emergency Manager presented her monthly report.

Greg Shuck, Weed Superintendent, presented his monthly report, the Trailblazer Annual Report of 2024 and Request for Sponsorship for 2025 in the amount of \$400.00. Shuck did notify the Board that grants have been submitted for the annual hazardous household waste and electronic recycling events for the year 2025; however, there is no status update on the applications yet. Shuck is also unsure if the tire recycling event will occur in 2025. Motion by Fintel and seconded by Pavelka to approve the 2025 Sponsorship for Trailblazer in the amount of \$400.00. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Shaw and seconded by Bitterman to recess as the Board of Supervisors at 9:38 A.M. and enter session as the Weed Control Board. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Copies of the Weed Control Board Roster Report, Activity Report, Weed Infestations Report, Budget Report and the Weed Control Plan for 2025 were provided to the board prior to the meeting for their review. Motion by Becker and seconded by Fintel to authorize the chairman to sign the Weed Control Board Roster Report, Activity Report, Weed Infestations Report, Budget Report and the Weed Control Plan for 2025. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Fintel to adjourn at 9:42 A.M. as the Weed Control Board and resume session as the Board of Supervisors. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Recommendation for appointments to the Joint Planning and Zoning Commission was received and reviewed. Motion by Shaw and seconded by Becker to reappoint Andrew Leichleiter, Keith Johnson and Lyn Waegli to the Joint Planning and Zoning Commission to serve for three years, effective January 1, 2025 through December 31, 2027. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

The Auto Fleet, Inland Marine, and Building & Contents Schedules were received from Nebraska Intergovernmental Risk Management Association (NIRMA). The Clerk has provided these schedules to the Highway Superintendent, Emergency Manager, Board of Supervisors,

and Sheriff for review and received feedback on necessary changes. The Clerk will complete the process on the NIRMA website.

The farm lease of the County Farm identified as the East Half (E ½) of Section Five (5), Township Six (6) North, Range Six (6) West of the 6th P.M., Clay County, Nebraska ('Marshall Township') is due for advertising for bids. Motion by Bitterman and second by Samuelson to advertise for bids for the farm lease of the County Farm identified as the East Half (E ½) of Section Five (5), Township Six (6) North, Range Six (6) West of the 6th P.M., Clay County, Nebraska ('Marshall Township'). Said lease term is to run from March 1, 2025 through February 29, 2028. Bids will be opened January 28, 2025 at 9:30 A.M. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

The Board of Supervisors took time to present a gift of recognition to Supervisor Ivan Fintel for his 18 years of service to Clay County, Nebraska as he prepares to part ways with the Clay County Board of Supervisors.

Motion by Fintel and seconded by Pavelka to adjourn this meeting at 10:59 A.M. Next regular meeting scheduled for January 14, 2025. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Cassie Aksamit, Clay County Clerk

L. Wayne Johnson, Chairman