COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS MEETING MINUTES

The Clay County Board of Supervisors met at the Courthouse, Clay Center, Nebraska on November 19, 2024 at 9:00 A.M., as per public notice given in the Clay County News on November 13, 2024 a copy of the proof of publication being on file in the County Clerk's Office. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advanced notice of the meeting. All of the proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Chairman L. Wayne Johnson stated that the open meeting law poster is posted on the west wall in the back of the room and presided with roll call showing the following present: Scott Bitterman, Eric Samuelson, Glen Becker, Jim Pavelka, Ivan Fintel, Richard Shaw and L. Wayne Johnson.

All present stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Minutes of the meeting held November 12, 2024 were provided to the board members prior to the meeting. Motion by Fintel and seconded by Pavelka to approve the minutes of the meeting held November 12, 2024. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

There was no public input.

Jeff Franklin, County Sheriff provided his monthly update. Franklin stated that one new deputy had been hired.

Jennifer Fleischer, County Attorney provided her monthly update.

Brad Slaughter with Northland was present to provide the Board with an update on the bond issue for the County Road Asphalt Overlay Project.

The Finance Committee met before this meeting to discuss the remaining funds in the COVID / ARPA Fund. The Finance Committee provided discussion on options for designation of the remaining funds.

Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Shaw to adjourn this meeting at 9:50 A.M. Next regular meeting scheduled for November 26, 2024. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Bitterman, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Cassie Aksamit, Clay County Clerk

L. Wayne Johnson, Chairman