COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS MEETING MINUTES

The Clay County Board of Supervisors met at the Courthouse, Clay Center, Nebraska on October 29, 2024 at 9:00 A.M., as per public notice given in the Clay County News on October 23, 2024 a copy of the proof of publication being on file in the County Clerk's Office. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice of the meeting. All of the proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Chairman L. Wayne Johnson stated that the open meeting law poster is posted on the west wall in the back of the room and presided with roll call showing the following present: Scott Bitterman, Eric Samuelson, Glen Becker, Jim Pavelka, Ivan Fintel and L. Wayne Johnson; absent: Richard Shaw.

All present stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Minutes of the meeting held October 22, 2024 were provided to the board members prior to the meeting. Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Bitterman to approve the minutes of the meeting held October 22, 2024. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Samuelson, Pavelka, Fintel and Johnson; Abstain: Becker; Nay: None. Motion carried.

There was no public input.

Thomas Roemmich, II, Highway Superintendent, presented his roads report.

Greg Shuck, Weed Superintendent, presented his monthly report.

Mark Johnson, Building & Grounds presented his monthly report.

Chairman Johnson and County Clerk Aksamit presented the 2024 NIRMA Dividends check received at last week's NIRMA Self-Defense Conference. Clay County was awarded \$11,436.00.

Jeff Franklin, County Sheriff and Kreighton Baxter, Chief Deputy Sheriff had discussion with the Board regarding retention and recruitment for the Clay County Sheriff's Department.

Motion by Fintel and seconded by Pavelka to adjourn this meeting at 9:57 A.M. Next regular meeting scheduled for November 12, 2024. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Samuelson, Pavelka, Fintel, Bitterman and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Cassie Aksamit, Clay County Clerk

L. Wayne Johnson, Chairman