COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Courthouse, Clay Center, Nebraska, May 30, 2023, at 9:00 A.M.

The Clay County Board of Supervisors met May 30, 2023, as per public notice in the Clay County News on May 24, 2023, a copy of the proof of publication being on file in the County Clerk's Office. The availability of the agenda was communicated in advance notice of the meeting. Chairman L Wayne Johnson presided with roll call showing the following present: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw and Johnson. Minutes of the meeting held May 23, 2023, were mailed to the Board members. All the proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Chairman, L Wayne Johnson stated that the open meeting law poster is posted on the west wall in the back of the room.

All present stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion by Bitterman and seconded by Fintel to approve the minutes of the meeting held May 23, 2023, as mailed. On roll call, yea: Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman and Johnson. Motion carried.

There was no public input.

Tom Roemmich II, Highway Superintendent, provided his weekly report.

The renewal rates and additional coverage with the Blue Cross Blue Shield dental insurance was discussed.

Chairman Johnson provided the Board with a breakdown on the Nebraska Intergovernmental Risk Management Association (NIRMA) renewal process and rates for 2023-2024. Motion by Fintel and seconded by Pavelka to approve the NIRMA renewal for 2023-2024. On roll call, yea: Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson and Johnson. Motion carried.

The recommendation of the Emergency Manager to appoint individuals as Deputy Emergency Managers was discussed. Motion by Bitterman and seconded by Fintel to appoint the following as Deputy Emergency Managers on a volunteer basis to serve individually or collaboratively in the event of the absence of the Clay County Emergency Manager: Thomas Roemmich, II; Jim Fitzgerald; Larry T. Nuss; Brad Brennfoerder; Brandon Scheidemann. On roll call, yea: Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker and Johnson. Motion carried.

Motion by Shaw and seconded by Pavelka to adjourn the meeting at 9:31 A.M., next regular meeting scheduled for June 13, 2023. On roll call, yea: Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Pavelka and Johnson. Motion carried.

Cassie Aksamit, County Clerk

L. Wayne Johnson, Chairman