## COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Courthouse, Clay Center, Nebraska, February 28, 2023 at 9:00 A.M.

The Clay County Board of Supervisors met February 28, 2023 as per public notice in the Clay County News on February 22, 2023 a copy of the proof of publication being on file in the County Clerk's Office. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice of the meeting. Vice Chairman Jim Pavelka presided with roll call showing the following present: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Fintel, Shaw and Pavelka; absent: Johnson. Minutes of the meeting held February 21, 2023 were mailed to the board members. All the proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Vice Chairman, Jim Pavelka stated that the open meeting law poster is posted on the west wall in the back of the room.

All present stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.

There was no Public Input.

Motion by Shaw and seconded by Bitterman to approve the minutes of the meeting held February 21, 2023 as mailed. On roll call, yea: Samuelson, Becker, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman and Pavelka; absent: Johnson. Motion carried.

Thomas Roemmich II, Highway Superintendent provided his roads report.

Motion by Fintel and seconded by Shaw to adopt and authorize the chairman to sign Resolution #23-05 concerning NDOT for Project No. STP-S18C (107). On roll call, yea: Becker, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson and Pavelka; absent: Johnson. Motion carried. (Resolution on file in Clerk's office)

Cheryl Blome, Deputy County Clerk advised the Board of communications received of people able to assist with Township vacancies at this time.

Motion by Becker and seconded by Samuelson to appoint the following to fulfill the term of Township Members: Inland Township: Donna McCartney and Paul Roback; Marshall Township: Dale Schliep. On roll call, yea: Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, and Pavelka; absent: Johnson. Motion carried.

Holli Alley, UNL Extension gave an Activity Insight Report.

Names for appointments to the Clay County Extension Board were reviewed and discussed. Motion by Shaw and seconded by Bitterman to re-appoint Elaine Shuck and Appoint Christina Dittmer and Michael Derr to the Clay County Extension Board for three-year terms beginning January 1, 2023. On roll call, yea: Shaw, Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Fintel and Pavelka absent: Johnson. Motion carried.

Greg Shuck, Weed Superintendent provided his monthly report.

Motion by Bitterman and seconded by Fintel to accept the budget request of Midland Area Agency on Aging for fiscal year 2023-2024 in the amount of \$1598.00 for membership and to budget \$11,000.00 for the commodity, meal distribution, in home and transit programs. On roll call, yea: Bitterman, Samuelson, Becker, Fintel, Shaw and Pavelka; absent: Johnson. Motion carried.

Motion by Bitterman and seconded by Samuelson to adjourn this meeting at 9:50 A.M.; next regular meeting scheduled for March 14, 2023. On roll call, yea: Samuelson, Becker, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman and Pavelka; absent: Johnson. Motion carried.

Cheryl Blome, Deputy County Clerk

Jim Pavelka, Vice Chairman