COUNTY BOARD OF EQUALIZATION MEETING MINUTES

Courthouse, Clay Center, Nebraska, March 19, 2024, at 8:45 A.M.

The Clay County Board of Supervisors acting as the Board of Equalization met March 19, 2024, as per public notice given in the Clay County News on March 13, 2024, a copy of the proof of publication being on file in the County Clerk's Office.

Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice of the meeting. All of the proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

Chairman L. Wayne Johnson stated that the open meeting law poster is posted on the west wall in the back of the room and presided with roll call showing the following present: Scott Bitterman, Glen Becker, Jim Pavelka, Ivan Fintel, Richard Shaw and L. Wayne Johnson; Absent: Eric Samuelson.

Motion by Bitterman and seconded by Fintel to approve the minutes of the meeting held February 20, 2024, as mailed. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Bitterman, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Brenda Hansen, County Assessor, presented Tax List Corrections #3051-3059. Motion by Pavelka and seconded by Shaw to approve the Tax List Corrections #3051-3059 as presented. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Becker, Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Sandy Creek Schools protested the Board's Intent to Tax on parcels 4674 & 4675. Brenda provided the Board with information regarding these parcels.

Motion by Fintel and seconded by Pavelka to approve the Application for Exemption on Parcel #4674. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Pavelka, Fintel, Shaw, Bitterman, Becker and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Shaw and seconded by Bitterman to approve the Application for Exemption on Parcel #4675. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Fintel, Shaw Bitterman, Becker, Pavelka and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Fintel and seconded by Pavelka to adjourn this meeting at 9:15 A.M. Upon roll call, the vote was as follows: Aye: Shaw, Bitterman, Becker, Pavelka, Fintel and Johnson; Nay: None. Motion carried.

Cassie Aksamit, County Clerk

L. Wayne Johnson, Chairman